More Archetype!

July 26, 2016

To round out the Archetype hype, I’ve also interviewed some of the wonderful actors in the production! These guys are tasked with learning multiple roles in only a few weeks, and are ready to knock your socks off this week at the show!

First up, Chandler Reeves!
Chandler

-Who do you play in Archetype?

I play a stick of butter in “Good Butter” and the ‘right hand vamp’ to the president of a vampire sorority in “The Pledge.” 

-What is your favorite part of the show?

I am so in love with the last number from “Little Bird.” It’s an uplifting gospel number about the power of acceptance. I swear, I get misty every time we go through it! 

-What was your favorite moment from rehearsal?

I know this may sound general and cheesy, but I honestly don’t know if I have one! Everyday is an adventure with these people. It’s almost as if Prospect accumulated all of the nicest and funniest people they knew and asked them to do this thing! We have such a good time in the room together. 

-What’s your dream role?

This is a tough one! I have a mad obsession with Sunday In The Park With George, so playing Dot someday would be incredible! 

-What is your favorite archetype? If you could play any archetype in a play, which would it be?

Some of us sat around in rehearsal one day and took a Jungian archetype quiz. I got The Caregiver — which is scarily accurate. That’s who I have always been, and I am so unashamed! So, while I am The Caregiver in real life, I feel like playing The Magician would be the most interesting! As The Magician, it would be fun to come up with different solutions and make some magic happen. I feel like their wheels are always spinning, which is always exciting to play with! 

-What’s the hardest thing about being in multiple musicals at once?

Believe it or not, memorization isn’t the issue here— it’s clarifying the different stories and making the archetypes we are representing clear for the audience. Each one of us is assigned a specific archetype. It’s out job to justify the actions of our characters by using these archetypal traits  as a sort of guideline for our arcs within the story we’re telling. Since we don’t come right out and say “Hi, I’m Chandler and I will be playing The Lover,” it’s important to make our choices very clear.  

-What do you want audiences to take away from this production?
I think the whole idea of these Jungian archetypes is really fascinating. I want the audience to leave our show learning a little something about themselves. I want them to look at these different characters and be able to identify their own archetypes. Understanding our own archetype helps us understand why we do and react to certain things the way we do. To be able to teach an audience about that is really exciting.

Next up, Austin Ku!

Austin

-Who do you play in Archetype?

I play a hairdresser named Kelley that is one of the central characters in one of the six pieces, as well as other smaller roles in some of the other pieces.

-What is your favorite part of the show?

I can’t tell you without giving too much away!

-What’s your dream role?

Ali Stoker had a great response to that same question in this month’s Diversity-themed issue of Equity News, which is something like: A new role on Broadway. As much as I have enjoyed many of the roles I’ve played in the traditional theater canon, none of them have that closely reflected my own personal experience (primarily for me in terms of being a contemporary, three-dimensional Asian American). It would be thrilling to get to bring to Broadway (or TV or film) a major part that I myself have helped create and that has been tailored over the development process to my unique strengths and personality, and will forever be associated in some way with me.

-What is your favorite archetype? If you could play any archetype in a play, which would it be?
Well I took an archetype quiz online, and it said I was The Hero, which is kind of ironic because in my piece Kelley is The Hero, even though it’s not apparent at first. Hopefully I didn’t just give too much away.
-What’s the hardest thing about being in multiple musicals at once?

It’s actually really fun! Right now each of us is a lead in one of the six scenes, and then supporting and ensemble in a couple of others. It’s not like we’re all on stage, all the time. I actually think it would be even more fun if all of us were in all of them, like a little ensemble company doing variations on a theme. I would like that challenge.

-What do you want audiences to take away from this production?
That there are talented writers out there, established and undiscovered alike, who write great, new material about contemporary, DIVERSE subject matter; and that there are talented, DIVERSE actors who want to and can perform that DIVERSE material! …And I’m not using DIVERSE as code for “ethnic”–I truly mean DIVERSE its correct definition, meaning SHOWING GREAT VARIETY.
And now, Hana Slevin!

Hana

-Who do you play in Archetype?

The Magician

-What is your favorite part of the show?

Getting to play 4 completely different characters. I can’t pick a favorite! But playing beer pong as an initiation rite in a vampire sorority is pretty great. 😉

-What was your favorite moment from rehearsal?

Seeing the other pieces I’m not in for the first time in our first stumble-through.

-What’s your dream role?
To get in a time machine and be on Gilmore Girls.
-What is your favorite archetype? If you could play any archetype in a play, which would it be?
The Explorer
-What’s the hardest thing about being in multiple musicals at once?

Perhaps keeping lines/music/blocking straight in my head and switching gears so quickly. But I like the challenge. It keeps things fresh and exciting. 🙂

-What do you want audiences to take away from this production?
“I remember who I am.”
Last but not least, Sherz Aletaha!

Sherz

-Who do you play in Archetype?

I play Gail, the rebel, in “A Guy And A Girl”

-What is your favorite part of the show?

We all close the show together in one of the pieces and the song is so gorgeous and sweet. 

-What was your favorite moment from rehearsal?

The day we all finally got to watch each other’s pieces! Also, the day Chandler Reeves and I hugged each other like robots during “Little Bird” because we were overcome with awkwardness.

-What’s your dream role?
Fanny Brice in Funny Girl
-What is your favorite archetype? If you could play any archetype in a play, which would it be?
The Ruler, obviously! Who doesn’t want to be the boss?
-What’s the hardest thing about being in multiple musicals at once?

Well, I go from being a normal girl who’s breaking up with her boyfriend to a vampire in literally 15 seconds so that’s kind of weird and fun!

-What do you want audiences to take away from this production?
How versatile musicals can be. We have so many different styles and themes. It’s really cool to see the variety in one show.
Are you intrigued yet??? I most definitely am! Don’t miss Archetype this week!
Leave a Reply

