In The Rehearsal Room

June 24, 2016

The other day, I was lucky enough to sit in on a rehearsal for Vote For Me, which goes up this Saturday at the TimesCenter! The experience was my first with the show, and I quickly discovered how much I like it!

Upon finding 777 Studios and walking up the billions of stairs (or so it felt), I found several of the cast members in a rehearsal room awaiting the arrival of their director, Amy Rogers. Once Amy, Scott and Drew (the guys behind the whole show), and the rest of the cast arrived, they began rehearsing the hilarity that is Vote For Me.

VFM authors in rehearsal
Scott Elmegreen & Drew Fornarola, the writers!

Vote For Me has a week to rehearse; that means everybody hit the ground running on Monday and has not stopped. I have never been part of a concert performance before, so I was curious to see how everyone would fare at only the second rehearsal….And I was definitely impressed! Despite having only one vocal rehearsal under their belts, everybody seemed comfortable with the music. It’s a wordy show, but their diction allowed even me, a total newcomer to the material, to understand exactly what was going on.

Vote For Me is scarily applicable to today’s current events, even though it premiered several years ago. I knew absolutely nothing about politics up until this year, when it hit me that voting a leader into office really is a privilege not afforded to the majority of the world. But my baby-stepping into politics so far has still mostly included Buzzfeed articles – so I was slightly surprised when I found myself laughing out loud at the politically-undertoned jokes in the script.

Did you hear that? You don’t have to be politically inclined to enjoy this show! Even if venturing into politics for you means binge-watching Scandal, I guarantee Vote For Me will still make you laugh. Heck, you might even learn something!

The rehearsal progressed nicely – blocking was kept simple for the concert setup, and the actors’ ebb and flow around the stage came to life as the political debates we can watch on TV (or not watch, as the case may be).

2 actor pic Sarah Brennan

Sarah Ziegler & Brennan Caldwell, two of the actors, rehearsing their music!

I can’t wait to see how the following rehearsals have shaped this already fantastic work-in-progress! Remember, Vote For Me is this Saturday, June 25th at 8pm at the TimesCenter (242 W 41st Street) as part of Prospect’s IGNITE Series. Ticket information can be found at our website, http://www.prospecttheater.org/, and on the Facebook page, https://www.facebook.com/events/1277888742221624/. See you there!

Leave a Reply

