Coincidence or a sign?

January 20, 2009

Hello all!

Rehearsals for The Dome are going great.  The different sections of the show are really starting to look fantastic, and we’re working out how they’ll ultimately be woven together.  Last night the cast learned the opening number, written by Marisa Michelson and Jason Grote, and I can say personally that it gave me chills.  So I’m really excited (and nervous, but mostly excited!) that the show is rapidly approaching crunch time, then tech week, then, believe it or not, performances!

In other news, this email exchange was forwarded to me by Dorothy Abrahams, who is playing Emilie du Chatelet, a French scientist and philosopher who adapted and translated the works of Isaac Newton.  Dorothy and Dino Antoniou (playing Voltaire), Laura Marks (the playwright of the Voltaire section, which is also known as Hypothesis), Stefanie Sertich (who is directing Hypothesis), and Cara Reichel (Prospect’s artistic director and the conceiver and curator of The Dome) all participated.  See below:

From: Dino Antoniou
Subject: Words of Interest…

So after our reading today, I jumped on the train and I noticed that amongst the ads there was a graphic of a golden globe almost identical to the one used in our YouTube promo video shoot yesterday.  Then I saw that it was part of the ‘Train Of Thought’ series that they have on the subways.  The accompanying text read, “I do not know what I may appear to the world; but to myself I seem to have been only like a boy playing on the seashore, and diverting myself in now and then finding a smoother pebble or a prettier shell than ordinary, whilst the great ocean of truth lay all undiscovered before me.”

Then I wondered who had written these wise words and I saw it was Sir Isaac Newton.

Coincidence or a sign? You decide.

Dino

From: Dorothy Abrahams
Subject: RE: Words of Interest…

I choose

to see it as a sign.

Sent shivers down my spine.

-Dorothy

From: Cara Reichel
Subject: Re: Words of Interest…

cool… it’s a bad reproduction of an “armillary sphere” by the way ; )
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armillary_sphere)
Cara Reichel

From: Stefanie Sertich
Subject: Re: Words of Interest…

Hi Everyone!

I heard that the reading went really well which is so exciting! This project is going to be super awesome and I have all the faith in the world that we are going to create a memorable piece of theatre.

And in reference to the subway message- I don’t think there is any such thing as coincidence!

Talk soon,
Stef

From: Laura Marks
Subject: Re: Words of Interest…

Perhaps our diverse responses to this subway sighting say a lot about our characters: Dino refuses to commit himself (spiritually, at least), I fret about the play, Dorothy gets chills, Cara goes to Wikipedia, and Stef says there’s no such thing as coincidence…

xo, L

From: Dorothy Abrahams
Subject: Re: Words of Interest…

Thought this might make an interesting contribution to the blog…would anyone object to sharing our dialogue with Rachel?

-dorothy

From: Dino Antoniou
Subject: Re: Words of Interest…

Well, then I’ll have to commit to my full answer…

I would say this is a clear sign.  I’ve found when I’m being active in
a certain direction and not spending much time over-analyzing and
doubting myself, this type of clear sign happens fairly often.  I’ve
become so accustomed to them, I’d call them more sign-posts along the
road.  It’s like they’re saying, “You’re headed in the right direction
– keep going!”.

When I’m being passive and spending way too much time thinking rather
than doing, more vague coincidences seem to happen that don’t clearly
line up with the direction I’m headed in.  So I tend to see these
types of coincidences as signs that I’m headed in the wrong direction
and I try to see if I can change my course.  Sometimes I don’t listen
to the signs and then curse myself later for ignoring them.  But when
I do follow the signs and things work out, I look up with wonder and
gratitude at the system that is in play.

…and that’s my two cents worth on the subject!

Dino

As always, more to come soon, including links to the promotional videos for the show!

-Rachel

Leave a Reply

