In Favor of the Duke

October 22, 2008

It’s question time again!  Brandon Andrus (aka Duke Orsino) answers below….
1.)  What has been the most challenging part of rehearsals for you so far?

Trying not to laugh with Jessica in the Finale. We just look at each other and crack up.

2.)  What is your favorite moment in Illyria (either involving you or someone else)

I love the scene where Viola gets Orsino drunk and takes advantage of him. Well, that is how my character remembers it.

3.)  Put your iPod on shuffle.  What are the first five songs that come up?

West End Blues – Louis Armstrong
My Guiding Star – Dean Martin
Everyday – Dave Matthews Band
I Want to Hold Your Hand – The Beatles
Tiny Broken Heart – Alison Krauss & Union Station

4.)  What is the strangest job you’ve ever had (non-theater related)?

I used to restock the bookshelves at Borders at 4 o’clock in the morning!

5.)  If I asked your mom to tell me one weird thing about you what would she say?

She would say, “How dare you imply there is anything weird with my son!”

6.)  How closely can you relate with either your character or an individual story-line in Illyria?

Oh, I totally did what Orsino did. But I didn’t think she was a man. But we were friends, and I kept pining over this girl who was totally not interested. Anyway, when I finally figured out who I should be going after, she was already dating someone else. So my happy ending came years later when I met my wife, Deven.

7.)  Can you juggle?  And if so what’s the largest quantity that you can juggle at a time?

No.

8.)  Have you ever written and/or received a love letter from a secret admirer?

Yes, I received one. And he and I are friends now.

9.)  Best part of being involved in theater?

Getting to meet people like the ones in this cast. When you are in something good, surrounded by great performers, and spending time with fun and caring people, you know your life is good. That and playing the part with Pip!

10) What color would your aura be?

Orange.

11) What is your favorite place to eat in the city?

Bai Sushi on Broadway between 37th and 38th in Astoria, Queens!

Leave a Reply

