Another Assistant Director

October 6, 2008

So you’ve met Chris, one of the Assistant Directors.  Now it’s time to meet the other.  I’m Assistant Director Mary Beth, super cool chick who sits in the back of rehearsals and writes blogs, among other things.  As Chris said before you will be meeting many of the creative staff for our (in rehearsal) production of Illyria.  Today you meet me.  As time goes on some actors, designers, and various management type folks will be posting here in response to random questions asked by me (and others).  When I say random I truly mean random: some are show-related, some have absolutely nothing to do with the show.  It’s more fun this way.

Enough about that.  I know you are sitting on pins and needles about what happened during today’s rehearsal.  Well, today was our very first “stumble-through,” and while this is self-titled by the production team it ended up merely being a run-through with a few bumps here and there.  It definitely exceeded any other first run-through of a show that I have worked on.  The actors are really starting to love their characters, and in turn the audience (meaning some of the other Prospect staff and me) loves them as well.  Where we are in the rehearsal process may be my favorite part: the actors have been given enough of a framework to really start playing within it and the stuff that they are doing is just brilliant.  If what happened today is any indication of what the final product is going to look like then those who come see the show are in for an amazing night of theater (and I’m not just saying that because I’m working at the company, I actually genuinely mean it).  For all intents and purposes the process is in full swing and is looking amazing.

If you haven’t bought your ticket yet, hurry and do it now, because we are indeed selling out.  I should sign off now, but check back in the very near future for some interesting outlooks on the show, theater, and life in general.  You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

